Welcome to Northern Star Records

Northern Star is a record label dedicated to independent and underground sounds. The label launched back in March 2006 with the first volume of the now legendary Psychedelica series which featured an eclectic selection of the very best in contemporary psychedelia from across the world. The label has since refined its sound and its ethos via way of the Revolution In Sound compilations.

Northern Star has been consistently growing over the last 8 years, a catalyst for true independence, teaming up with labels and bands from across the world, building up an evergrowing network of like minded souls. Coming from a lineage of labels such as Creation, 4AD, Rough Trade and Factory, Northern Star compilations have placed well known cult acts alongside a host of unknowns and have been a launchpad for many.

The response to Northern Star has been phenomenal - one of massive public support and great critical acclaim garnering rave reviews from across the world. Northern Star has become a truly worldwide phenomenon. Independent bands from all over the planet have united under the Northern Star umbrella. Northern Star - we're starting a revolution and we want you to be a part of it!

New in the shop

Fifth instalment of the greatest Psychedelic series of our time. Northern Star Records are proud to present Psychedelica 5 featuring 2 and a half hours of the most fuzzed up, blissed out bands in existence. Its a heartstopping white knuckle rollercoaster ride from start to finish featuring an eclectic selection of the very best in contemporary psychedelia.

Psychedelica 5 is a limited edition double CD in special packaging.

Live Revolution

LIVE REVOLUTION is a strictly limited edition vinyl only record featuring highlights of the Northern Star Weekender, recorded over the 22nd-24th March 2013 at the Windmill, Brixton, London.

This is your chance to own a unique Northern Star rarity never to be repeated again on aquamarine coloured vinyl.

2nd album from Stockholm's Youngteam. Their darkest and most accomplished work to date. Fading Into Night takes up where Daydreamer left off and takes Youngteam into darker realms altogether. This could be their masterpiece.


Limited edition 7inch split single, coloured vinyl edition featuring The Electric Mainline and Soundwire featuring TEM's All Too Much re-recorded and produced by Head In The Shed and Soundwire's brand new version of their live favourite A Little Death.


White label vinyl edition of Deep Cut's Versions. Ltd edition of 50. Featuring contributions from Tim Burgess (The Charlalatans), Spotlight Kid, The Electric Mainline, Exit Calm, Daniel Land & The Modern Painters and The Megaphonic Thrift.

From 2011-2013 Deep Cut (featuring members of Death In Vegas and Revolver) undertook a series of remixes, the best of which appear here. The resulting album is a genre hopping classic in its own right taking in psychedelia, shoegaze, krautrock with nods to Suicide, King Tubby and Bo Diddley.

Latest blog post


28TH-30TH MARCH 2014

... (more)