LOST (Vinyl)

The Lovetones (Vinyl)

Lovetones Lost


Australia's The Lovetones have set the course for another fantastic trip with their fifth LP titled "Lost" (PSREC-069). It’s the amazing follow up to 2009's critically acclaimed album "Dimensions" (PSRCD-060). On board this time around, are special guests: Nettwerk recording artist (one time member of BJM & vocal appearances with The Jesus & Mary Chain) Miranda Lee Richards; members of The Asteroid No. 4, the aforementioned Brian Jonestown Massacre, and Chief Nowhere. It's mixed by Liam Judson (of Belles Will Ring) and features the timeless art of James Marsh, who is most recognized for his work on the band Talk Talk's album covers.

The Lovetones was formed from the ashes of guitarist and songwriter Matthew Tow’s previous band, Drop City. In the aftermath of Drop City’s demise, Tow headed to the United States where he made the acquaintance of psychedelic savant Anton Newcombe (Brian Jonestown Massacre). Tow embraced the kaleidoscopic sounds and textures being explored in the psychedelic underground inhabited by Newcombe, and blended it with his own pop sensibility to create The Lovetones’ distinctive sound. The Lovetones released its first album, the critically acclaimed “Be What You Want”, in 2002. In 2003 The Lovetones supported the Brian Jonestown Massacre in the U.S.A, with Tow joining the Brian Jonestown Massacre in the same year. Tours of the United States and Europe followed, before The Lovetones released its second album, “Meditations” in 2005. Conceived as the first part of a musical trilogy, Meditations was succeeded by “Axiom” in 2007, displaying once again The Lovetones’ mastery of psychedelic pop. In 2008 & 2009 the band released the critically acclaimed “Dimensions” LP – charting via CMJ in the USA.

In 2010, The Lovetones write their latest chapter - the fabulous nine track LP “Lost”. The album continues the band’s exploration of radiant, ethereal psychedelia. Tow’s masterful songwriting shines throughout. The album’s opener - “City Meets The Stars” is an excellent fusion of mid 60’s era Moody Blues meets 21st century psych rock. In contrast, the beautifully arranged “Coming Home” ( a lovely duet with Miranda Lee Richards) swirls with strings and harpsichords. Bassist/Keyboardist Matthew Sigley contributes to the mix with the fine jangly waltz of “This Great Romance.” The rest of the album takes flight with a variety of sonic landscapes: the groove driven “Hurricane”; the Beatlesque splendor of “Chinatown Bus” & the title track “Lost”. “Come Dance With Me” and the concluding track, “Earths Great Sleep” invokes the band’s darker side - in all of it’s Bowie-like/psychedelic overtones.

Track listing: 

City Meets The Stars
Chinatown Busride
Coming Home (Feat. Miranda Lee Richards)
This Great Romance
Come Dance With Me
Free Yourself
Earths Great Sleep

Price: £13.99